The next day, I called the doctor to ask if my symptoms were normal and he said that my feeling as though I was about to see in double was a good thing, signifying that I was breaking down my suppression.

“Doctor, what if I start to see in double while I am driving?” I asked.

“Just close one eye,” he responded nonchalantly.

Imagining how strange it would be to drive around with one eye closed as though I were a pirate without an eye patch, I found myself perplexed.

I wanted my world to change, but I had no idea I would be collapsing on my bed, powerless to help my roommate or unable to remember which knob was for hot water and which for cold.

Leave a Reply

