While I was listening to the marijuana chapter in the audio-book version Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire at the gym this afternoon, I was struck by his comments on marijuana’s ability to make people marvel at the mundane. I rewound the section to hear it again.

He explained that marijuana has an effect on the cannabinoid receptors in the brain such that people have short term memory loss. Because they are not in the past, they are focused on the present and can revel at the beauty of day-to-day objects that they previously hadn’t found all that interesting.

When I stare at my fruit bowl or look at the vibrating walls in my room, I am also a captive of the moment, not thinking about the past. It’s as though I am in the same transcendental state of people being high on marijuana. I am transcended from having my mind vacillate between the past, present and future to being completely taken by the orange peel.

Leave a Reply

