Enjoying the warm spring day, I went for a walk on the creek train by my house towards Shoreline Park and listened to the audio-book of Michael Pollan’s The Botany of Desire. As I was stepping, I saw the edge of the sidewalk move with me in tune with each step. What? I had this happen once before in front of the supermarket, but at that time, the sidewalk was just moving, it wasn’t in sync with my timing. The next day, the vision therapist told me I must have been seeing double at the time and that is why it seemed as though the sidewalk was in concert with my steps.

About 10 minutes later, I passed a row of short palm trees. For a split second, I thought I was back on the main road on the island of Ko Tao in the Gulf of Thailand. Absent the humidity making my skin sticky and the motorbikes speeding at my side, I realized that I was not in Thailand. We have palm trees on the beach in Santa Barbara, but what are they doing here in Mountain View along this creek?

Then I saw the sign for the tree nursery.

Good, I might see double, but at least I am not hallucinating about being in tropical Thailand. I wouldn’t mind a coconut banana shake though!

Leave a Reply

