Almost two weeks ago, I met a female surgeon at a reception and I asked her if she had ever worked with a doctor who could only see with one eye and who had no depth perception. I was curious if it was possible for someone to perform surgery and do work with microscopes if they couldn’t see feth .

To my great surprise, she told me that she only saw with one eye. She didn’t have strabismus, but she didn’t see with both eyes. Not only was she one of the minority of female surgeons with a child, she also was partially visually impaired. I was impressed.

For those of us who don’t know what life is like in 3D, we may not even realize how we are limited in our abilities. We just live and pursue our dreams just like anyone else.

When I told this to my friend Matt, he told me that when he explained to his father that I can only see in 2D, his father’s automatic response was “How does she survive? How can she drive?”

“She doesn’t know anything different than what she sees. So, she makes tdo.”

One of my closest friends when I lived in Argentina was a legally blind female lawyer, Cecilia. She traveled ON HER OWN in Europe and the US and always found people to help her out.

There was a book I saw in the bookstore once about a blind male solo traveler.

I am an avid traveler with over 50 countries under my belt, and I traveled to most of them ignorant of my limited vision.

People create all sorts of excuses for not doing things and they are almost all based on fears or self-created complexes. If a blind woman can travel on her own, if a monocular person can perform surgeries, then there are no excuses!

Ignorance is bliss. Courage is gold.

One response »

  1. Annie says:

    Hey there, Princess,

    I just wanted to tell you that, yes, there is life after 3D. When I was 32, I had my first go at an auto-immune disorder called Eales Disease. At the time, I hd 20/20 vision in both eyes. But in the…ahem..blink of an eye…I lost all the vision in my left eye. I was a trainer of hunter-jumper horses, a sport for which depth perception is critical because it is the rider who tells the horse when to leave the ground. Not being able to correctly “spot a distance” can have catastrophic results. Even 3D riders misjudge distances all the time, often with disastrous results. So I just assumed my riding career was over.

    I then met a polo player from Argentina. One of the highest rated players in the world, he shocked me when he said a polo ball to the head had taken away the sight in one eye several years before. But with practice, he made a comeback. In fact, most people never knew he was gone. For years, he made an exceedingly brilliant and profitable career as a pro polo player.

    I do remember being at a horse show in the early days after I lost my left eye sight. I came to a fence, misjudged the distance, and went flying, ass over tea kettle, as the quaint maxim goes. But I got back on. And with practice I got better. I also got better at parking cars, stepping off curb, filling a glass with liquid, and slicing fruit. In short, I learned to do all the things that anyone else can do.

    And here’s the kicker: about five years later, I lost the vision in my other eye. Completely. In the beat of a heart. Through some really good doctors and a lot of new research, I have been able to regain a fair amount of vision in my right eye. I now fluctuate between 2400 and 20/80–and I’m glad for every damn bit of it. I get injections in my eye every four weeks that help keep the condition under control and I also get botox in the muscle of the left eye to keep it from rolling off to the side.

    Many people, if not most, cannot tell that I have any vision issues, because I have pushed myself to adapt. Well, I don’t have much choice–I have a great husband who has the worst bedside manner in the world and wouldn’t stand for it if I whined. That bastard! Just kidding.

    Anyway, we are rooting for you and know that you can make this struggle a force for good in the world. Already you are inspiring through the honesty, grace, dignity and wisdom with which you are handling this.

    Yaaay, Princess!

Leave a Reply

