When I lived in Buenos Aires, Argentina, I had some strange infection in my eye and I went to the Insituto del Ojo (or Hospital del Ojo) near the Medical University to see a doctor.

After speaking a bit in Spanish, the handsome bearded eye doctor found out I was Russian and switched to speaking to me in Russian with a Ukrainian accent, totally catching me by surprise. It turns out that he had immigrated to Buenos Aires and studied ophthalmology there.

When he looked at my eyes through all of his machines, he said “How interesting!” in Russian.

He then called in the chief of the hospital who echoed in Spanish, “Que interesante!”

I don’t want to be interesting, in any language when it comes to my health. No, no, no. I want my medical situation to be cut and dry, easy.

However, my “interesting” status has returned, in English.

Yesterday, while telling the doctor that I saw the images he showed me in the stereoscope in double, he was perplexed.

“Really?” he remarked, wondering why I was giving him the wrong answer.

Hurriedly, he shuffled around the office looking for more pictures to put in the stereoscope to see if I saw them in single or double.

Double, all of them.

With his hand on his chin, he looked at me and wondered.

Though he wouldn’t say it to me, I knew I confounded him. He was confused. Why was I not seeing the images as one?

“Doctor, isn’t it a good thing that I see both images (there were two iamges of almost the same thing)? That means I am using both eyes, right?”

“No, you should be seeing it in single. You must be centering differently now.”

And all this talk about my finding my center! Perhaps my internal search for self is having an effect on my brain’s base point for optical processing.

He took the stereoscope away and said he’d do some more tests on me next week.

He also took away this battery-powered blinking light thing I was looking at with red-green glasses because I was also seeing the blinking lights in the wrong places.

I left the office being “interesting” again. I don’t want to be interesting!

2 responses »

  1. josh says:

    I had a similar experience earlier this week with my optometrist. He did some tests on me that seemed to confuse him more than enlighten him. Oops.

Leave a Reply

