After many months, if not years, of not listening to the CDs of my favorite singer, Billy Joel, I popped in one of his CDs of the Piano Man into my car stereo. The first song, River of Dreams, spoke to me directly. It’s been on replay for the past week.

These lyrics struck a chord:

I know I’m searching for something
Something so undefined
That it can only be seen
By the eyes of the blind

Three-dimensional vision to someone who has seen flat for all her 33 years is something that is undefined and absolutely unfathomable, yet I seek it and am paying dearly each month to my doctor as he leads me through vision therapy. It’s as though I’m traversing my river of 2D to get to the 3D side and I have no idea what is on the other side. The part about it only being seen by the eyes of the blind makes me laugh as what I am seeking is actually the norm for 95% of the population. To them, I am blind, stereoblind.

I must be lookin’ for something
Something sacred I lost
But the river is wide
And it’s too hard to cross
even though I know the river is wide
I walk down every evening and stand on the shore
I try to cross to the opposite side
So I can finally find what I’ve been looking for

Leave a Reply

