Last week, I was in Miami to promote my book on foreign language learning in the Spanish language press. I didn’t think I was nervous, but as I was waiting for my interview on CNN, I saw the TV screen in double. All the images on the screen were in double. Luckily, when it was my turn to speak on live international TV, I no longer saw in double. But there was a delay in the audio and visual signals and the earpiece was falling out my ear during the interview so the interview was probably my worst because I was so distracted by the audio and visual inputs being out of sync. I don’t know if there was a technical problem and the TV monitor was malfunctioning and was showing a double image or if my brain was seeing two images. (I had no caffeine at all in my system.) I didn’t want to ask the technician after the interview if there had been a technical malfunction because if he said that there hadn’t been one, then I would have looked bad.

A few days later, I was at my friend’s concert at a restaurant and I saw her with two heads. Usually when I see people with two heads, the second head is near the real head. But this time, her second head was near her hand that was holding the microphone, around her chest. At this point, I had consumed two glasses of red wine with dinner. I was nowhere near being tipsy.

On Tuesday of this week, I didn’t seem tired at all, but while saying goodbye to a friend by my car in a parking lot, he also appeared with two heads, with the second one around his waist. I knew it was time to go home.

I will see my developmental optometrist this afternoon and tell him about my double vision.

Leave a Reply

