It’s no secret that I am a musicophile. I recently found a song, “Close to Ten” by Tina Dico that shows how I feel about my eyes and getting to 3D.

Here’s the video. The lyrics are below. I’ve placed in bold the lyrics about which I comment in blue.

There are faces, there are smiles, so many teeth, too many arms and legs
And eyes and flashing buttons all around me
I’m a-watching, I’m a-breathing, I’m a-pushing, I’m a wishing
That these walls would not be talking quite so loudly

(For me, the walls don’t talk, they vibrate.)
I have lost it once before I’ve pulled myself up from the floor
And I am looking for a reason to stay standing
But sometimes it’s just too much or not enough or something else
It’s so much bigger than my head, it’s too demanding

(Vision therapy is often too much for my brain to take at any one time.)

Sometimes the fastest way to get there is to go slow
And sometimes if you wanna hold on you got to let go

I’m gonna close my eyes
And count to ten
I’m gonna close my eyes
And when I open them again
Everything will make sense to me then

(I can’t close my eyes throughout VT or else I won’t make any progress. But I do want what I see to make sense.)

I have met so many people, we’ve exchanged so many words
We’ve said it all and we’ve said nothing but it’s changed us
I have know a lot of men, some were lovers, some were friends
But all together were they merely passing strangers?
They’ll control you with their silence, they’ll control you with their words
And you’ll control them with your body’s coded signals
In the wild, entangled gardens of our insecurities
We lose our heads into eachother’s hidden pitfalls

Sometimes the fastest way to get there is to go slow
And sometimes if you wanna hold on you got to let go

(Wisdom of the month! I’ve been slowing down my life to accommodate my eyes and brain. I have to let go of my old life.)

I’m gonna close my eyes
And count to ten
I’m gonna close my eyes
And when I open them again
Everything will make sense to me then

One response »

  1. Very nice interpretation of music and vision. It’s nice to see and read your blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

