When I joined Sovoto: The Vision Advocacy Network a couple weeks ago, I posed the following question in the forum for Adult Strabismics about how someone in my position could imagine what 3D would be like. Below my question is the answer I came up with after reading some excellent responses from an optometrist and others who’ve crossed over from 2D to 3D.

I’m 15 months in VT to see in 3D and I need some psychological encouragement. For those who are not into “New Age” thought, this may seem esoteric to you, but the power of the mind is vast and I want to use positive thinking to get me to seeing with both eyes and fusing.

I’m reading the book, “Power” by Rhonda Byrne. It’s the sequel to the international bestseller, “The Secret” which was also an Internet movie hit. For those not familiar with “The Secret” and “The Law of Attraction”, the basic premise is that to bring something into one’s life, one has to imagine that he/she already has it, feel that he/she has it and believe that he/she has it. “Like attracts like” so you have to be on the same vibration of what you want in order for it to come to you. If you want a new car, you imagine what it looks like, you feel what it’s like to drive it and you believe you really own it. Only thinking about not having something, like I do about 3D, is not getting me closer to having stereopsis because it only makes me more anxious, frustrated, etc.

Visualization is a key tool for the law of attraction, but those of us who are stereoblind can’t visualize something we are blind to. So we need help, or at least I do.

Here’s my question to Susan Barry, any optometrists in this group and to anyone else who has crossed the bridge from flatland to binocularity: how does it feel to see in 3D as opposed to 2D? I am not asking what it looks like because that’s too abstract for me. People try to describe depth to me and they might as well be speaking in Greek, I don’t understand anything. But I can evoke feelings. I am not talking about the feelings of surprise at the steering wheel popping out or the cherry tomato in the lunch salad popping (examples from “Fixing my Gaze“), but what does it feel like to see in 3D?

I want to feel what it’s like to see in 3D to help me get there, but my only experience was with 3D glasses looking at a computer screen and seeing the soccer ball come out of the screen. I can’t transpose that experience to the real world because it’s freaky to imagine everything popping out of where it is and I have no idea how to do that.

My response to my own inquiry:

Note to friend:

I thought about what it might feel like to see in 3D and I inquired with those on the other side of the binocular road and learned that they feel more comfortable when they see in 3D becuase they know their distance from objects around them. When I do see positive changes in my vision (not like the times I saw friends with two heads), I’m in awe. What I keep in my mind and heart is a sense of awe to the world. This has been HUGE! I am in a better mood and more positive.

April 25:

I’ve been enjoying looking at the rain and raindrops on roses. When I’d seen photos of raindrops on flowers before they had seemed too beautiful to be real, as though they were artificially redone on a computer. Now I see that it’s my brain and eyes that are being redone and causing the difference in what I see.

May 5:

I went for a nice evening springtime walk today and was admiring the trees and flowers. It felt as though the trees, plants and flowers were moving towards me as I walked toward them. But inanimate things like cars and houses stood still. Yesterday, the carpet on the gym floor was of especial interest to me. Today, as I was raking the small wisteria leaves from the patio and putting them into the yard waste can, I was remarking at how cool it was to see the ray of sunlight cast light on the leaves as they fell into the can. The less I think of the side effects (like sleeping 10 plus hours last night) and the more I concentrate on the simple beauty of my new world, mostly in animate things like trees and flowers, the happier I am.

One response »

  1. Keith Cary says:

    Susanna, obviously I can’t tell you what it feels like to see in 3D, being wildly strabismic, but I can tell you the feeling I get from using the Brock string successfully. When I see “out of the center of my head”, that is, when I see with both eyes equally, albeit at 3 or 4″, I get a warm feeling in the center of my chest. It feels like something has opened up.

    As far as visualizing being New Age, well, maybe it is these days, but my father, now 98 years old and hardly a stereotypical guru (picturing a successful cowboy wouldn’t be too far off the mark) would always tell me to picture what I’d want, that getting the picture right was the important part of any job. I saw it work for him time and time again, and in the most improbable situations, from laying pipe to finding stolen bicycles to buying his ranch.

Leave a Reply

