Do you see two moons and stare at broccoli?

Or perhaps you find the little circles on orange peels and the space between
orange pulp to be incredibly captivating while your friends and family don’t
understand why you just won’t stop staring and eat.

Are you an adult doing vision therapy in the SF Bay Area and want to meet
other adult VT patients on the road to 3D?

I’d like to meet other adults who are doing vision therapy in the San
Francisco Bay Area so we can meet in person and swap stories, find ways to
provide emotional support and take walks together to point out the new
things we see. I live in Cupertino in Silicon Valley. Depending on where
people are, we can find a central spot and talk, walk and eat together and
comment on the wonderful texture and depth of our food.

So far, I have only had cyber contact with other strabismic or amblyope
adults who are undergoing this life-altering therapy and I’d like to meet
people in person.

I’ve been in vision therapy for 16 months and I’ve found it to be the most
alienating journey I’ve ever been on. When I describe to people who do see
in 3D how I find myself staring at carpets, refrigerator doors, citrus
peels, trees, rain drops on rose petals, etc, few understand what I am going
through. Here I am, a globetrotter quoted in the press for travel advice,
and I am spending my time in awe with my jaw dropped staring at the gym
carpet — a far cry from the Forbidden City or The Great Wall of China. One
person told me that he only fixated his gaze on fruit when he was on drugs.
Absent any mind altering illegal substances, the transition to binocular
vision can definitely resemble an altered state of consciousness. Being in
it alone makes it all the more difficult and frustrating.

By the way, if you’re not keen on broccoli either as an object of admiration
or as a food to eat, we can look at other things that have space between
branches or have other qualities that require depth perception. With the
good weather here, a walk in the park with other monocular to binocular Bay
Area people would be excellent.

7 responses »

  1. Hi. I love your blog. I am a Vision Therapist working in the Bay Area (Marin and Alameda). I have a new 20 yr old young man client. I will ask him to read your blog tomorrow and communicate with you. What a cool idea.

  2. mel says:

    I’d love to talk with you. I haven’t started my journey yet, but only because I don’t know where to begin it. I had my strabismus “corrected” as a kid and didn’t realize I didn’t have depth perception until I was in my early 20’s. I just thought I was a klutz. My eye that I turn off is starting to wander, so I don’t know if I can learn to bring it into action or if I would need more surgical/botox correction to learn to see 3D. I’d love to hear about someone else’s journey.

  3. Marc says:

    You’ve been at it for awhile. Have you crossed over to the 3D world? I am recommitted to my effort to achieve the goal first created by Sue Barry’s story. I wish I was still in the Bay Area, but alas, no.

Leave a Reply

