I had a hot date last night. My date (myself) took me out for the most expensive film I’ve ever seen. At $16 for a Friday night 3D movie, I have to say that my date treated me well!

I snuck in a falafel with hot sauce into the movie theater and ate it while watching the 3D previews for some animation movie. While I could see the animation looked really cool, nothing came off of the screen.

When the feature film, The Great Gatsby, came on screen, I saw nothing coming out of the screen. The cool effects of the camera zooming from a Manhattan skyscraper to the road were great but I had seen something similar in the sequel to Wall Street which I had viewed in 2D. I liked the movie but I didn’t have any depth experiences beyond what I’d see in a high definition 2D movie. I recall being amazed at snow flakes or rain in Hugo, which I had seen in 2D. Sometimes, I peeked at the screen without the polarized lenses so that I could see what was on the screen and some of the shots were almost completely in 2D, especially if there were of close-ups of people. Sometimes, the trees in the background were in double but the people in front were in single. I didn’t have high expectations so I wasn’t crushed. I don’t lament the $16 for the movie.

Although it was more convenient and cheaper to go to a stand-alone movie theater, I chose the one in the shopping mall near my house because I wanted to be in a well-lit environment in case my vision did change. If I had gone to the cheaper theater, I would have walked out in the dark and not been able to notice so well if something did appear to look different.

Oh how I wish I could have seen something in depth or had some cool after effects while walking in the mall. I’ll try again in a few months.

 

4 responses »

  1. Lynn Gehl says:

    thank you

  2. Lilly Rebecca says:

    *sigh*

    I love you.

  3. I had a similar experience. Thank you for sharing! We must press on!

  4. Robert C. says:

    Same here, but I will keep doing VT and keep gong to 3D movies. One of these days!

Leave a Reply

