The cheiroscope exercise has always been the hardest for me. The doctor had me do some drawings using the cheiroscope with my right (dominant) eye seeing the reflection of the picture and my left eye working to bring what it saw of my hand holding my pencil on the paper. Imagine holding the pen in the picture below and tracing the image you see reflected on the mirror. However, you have to use both eyes to be able to see what you are drawing on the paper on the left side of the cheiroscope and the reflection on the mirror.

Image

As I’d start tracing the image (a circle, a circle with a cross inside, a rectangle with a cross, etc), I’d find that the reflection would change positions and I’d want to chase the new reflection and start my tracing at a new spot. The doctor said, “Don’t chase. Use your eyes to bring the image back to where you had it before.”

I looked up and said, “Wow. That seems like good advice for my life outside of this office. Stop chasing and wait for things or make things to come to me.” The doctor smiled.

Indeed, I often chase moving targets in life and get frustrated. I have no travel plans for the time being and that’s a good thing. I need to stay put and get my eyes to be calm and work together. Literally chasing myself across time zones is not conducive to good binocular development.

In case you still have no clue what that contraption picture above can do, read this Free Dictionary description of a cheiroscope:

An instrument used in the management of amblyopia, suppression and hand and eye coordination. It consists of presenting a line drawing to one eye (usually the dominant one), which is traced by a pencil or crayon in the field of view of the other eye. The two fields of view are separated by a septum and a small mirror is used to reflect the line drawing. Stereoscopes can easily be adapted into cheiroscopes.

Leave a Reply

