About a month ago, I was a chaperone for my nephew’s class trip to a Spanish mission and historical site. After about an hour in the noisy yellow school bus, one of the 9 year-old boys vomited and his vomit spilled onto the corridor of the bus. The kids in the back of the bus, who did not want to step on the vomit, had to exit the bus via the emergency exit. The bus driver had to physically lift them from the emergency exit to the ground.

During the tour of the mission, I got frustrated with the kids who were not paying attention. When we returned to the bus, there was a light smell from the vomit still in the bus. My nephew fell asleep on my lap and many kids were chatting. Instead of being annoyed at the noise, I was fascinated by all of the flying dust in front of me. The sun was shining bright through the window and I was just staring at the flying dust, not paying attention to the vomit smell and noise.

I am slowly starting to appreciate having this experience of awe and discovery with things that few others appreciate. I have this little world that’s all my own. One person’s garbage (dust, flies and mildew) is another person’s treasure.

I met yesterday with a friend who has done VT and she and I went over my exercises with the Batwing and red-green tranaglyphs in a busy diner on a Saturday night. Luckily, we didn’t get any questions or weird looks about our VT contraptions. We had fun talking about the exercises and equipment together and we knew how unique it was to discuss this with another human being who is not a VT professional.

My niece and nephew like doing my exercises with me and taking down my measurements. I call them my coaches. I get stickers when I do a good job and beat my scores from before! It’s a game and fun to do with them. They are seven and nine years old.

I brought the tranaglyph and Batwing to my Thanksgiving dinner and even my “normal” relatives had trouble with the Batwing and wondered if there was something wrong with their eyes because they couldn’t keep a stable single image for long. I just explained that they don’t practice with this everyday like I do so they are not used to having to concentrate their eyes for so long.

 

 

Leave a Reply

