I am reading Living Well with a Hidden Disability: Transcending Doubts and Shame and Reclaiming Your Life now on how to cope with a hidden disability and it’s helping me A LOT. I so wish I had read it four years ago before I had started vision therapy as it would have saved me a lot of heartache and anguish over how to deal with other people’s reactions and my own sense of self-worth. I probably would not have found several friendships ruined or strained because of friends’ lack of understanding or respect for my experience and side effects. If you’re struggling with how to be and how to manage other people in your life (friends, lovers, spouse, colleagues, therapists, doctors, etc) in relation to your eye issues, I highly recommend this book. I got it at the library. I’d been looking online for resources for people with hidden disabilities and I hadn’t found anything useful. One day, I walked into my local library looking in the reserved stacks for some materials I had ordered and I saw Living Well with a Hidden Disability: Transcending Doubts and Shame and Reclaiming Your Life on a cart waiting for another library patron to pick up. I remembered the name and went straight to the computer to order myself a copy. I just recommended it to a friend with another type of hidden disability.

2 responses »

  1. Danny says:

    Just found your blog and can’t wait to read through some of it when I have time. I’m a strabismic myself and I skimmed the first page. Some of your thoughts seem to only be understood by other people with strabismus, which I can appreciate 🙂

Leave a Reply

